Bert Stern
Shapes & Symbols
Early advertising works 1953 - 1970
14. April bis 21. Juli 2018

Die Galerie 36 präsentiert die erste umfassende Ausstellung der visionären Werbe-fotografien des amerikanischen Fotografen Bert Stern (1929 – 2013) aus den frühen Fünfzigern bis Ende der Sechziger Jahre. Die Ausstellung „Shapes & Symbols“ zeigt eine Auswahl ikonischer Bilder, die in der äußerst produktiven Zeit seines Aufstiegs zu einem der führenden Fotografen der Werbewelt entstanden sind. Viele der ausgestellten Werke, die bisher nur in den Publikationen ihrer Entstehungszeit veröffentlicht wurden, sind nun im Sinne ihrer künstlerischen Tragweiten zum ersten Mal zu sehen.

Bert Stern gab in den frühen Fünfzigern den Anstoß zu einer neuen Ära der Werbefotografie. Er prägte maßgeblich die Entwicklung der farbigen Werbefotografie zu einer Kunstform. In Anzeigen wurden Bilder zuvor vorwiegend zur Visualisierung des Textes verwendet. Bert Sterns konzeptuelle Bilder konnten über die primäre Aussage einer Werbebotschaft an den Konsumenten hinaus eine Welt für das Produkt erschaffen. Eine seiner bekanntesten Fotografien entstand 1955 in Ägypten für Smirnoff Vodka und zeigt ein Martiniglas, in dem sich die Spitze der dahinter befindlichen Pyramide spiegelt. Diese Schlichtheit gilt als der einflussreichste Bruch mit der traditionellen Werbefotografie

Als autodidaktischer Fotograf begann Stern seine Karriere als Assistent beim Flair Magazin. 1946, während seiner Arbeit für das Look Magazin, schloss er Freundschaft mit Stanley Kubrick, für den er später Sue Lyon als Lolita porträtierte. Nach seinem Dienst in der US Army kehrte Stern nach New York zurück und begann Werbekampagnen zu realisieren. Er fotografierte 1953 in der weißen Wüste von New Mexico seinen ersten großen Auftrag in Zusammenarbeit mit der Madison Avenue ­Werbeagentur für Smirnoff Vodka. Dieser Auftrag war der Auftakt seiner großen Recherche der ästhetischen Bildfindung.

Sein kometenhafter Aufstieg ließ ihn einige der bemerkenswertesten farbigen Bilder zu Beginn des goldenen Zeitalters der Werbung produzieren, sowie einen bahnbrechenden Dokumentarfilm, „Jazz an einem Sommertag“, ebenso wie ikonische Porträts von Weltstars wie Audrey Hepburn, Sophia Loren, Elizabeth Taylor oder Gary Cooper und Truman Capote ­– einschließlich der berühmten „Last Sitting“–Fotografien von Marilyn Monroe.

¹ Robert A. Sobieszek, The Art of Persuasion: A History of Advertising Photography, New York: Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers, 1988, p.99.




  • The Prophetic Perugia, I.Miller, 1957




  • Driest of the Dry, Smirnoff Vodka, 1955

Bert Stern
Shapes & Symbols
Early advertising works 1953 - 1970
14th April until 21th July 2018

Galerie 36 is pleased to present the first comprehensive exhibition of the visionary advertising images by American photographer Bert Stern (1929 - 2013) from the early fifties to the late sixties. The exhibition "Shapes & Symbols" shows a selection of iconic photographs that emerged during the highly productive time of his rise to become one of the leading advertising photographers. Many of the works exhibited have never before been publicly displayed outside publications and magazines of their time and can now be seen for the first time in terms of their artistic value.

Bert Stern is credited with having redefined advertising imagery in the early 1950s and decisively shaped the development of color advertising photography into an art form. Previously, advertising in magazines was used primarily to illustrate the text. Through his conceptual vision, Stern ushered in a new era of advertising, one where photographic images began to communicate much more elusive and seductive messages to consumers. One of his first significant assignments was a shot in Egypt for Smirnoff Vodka in 1955 where Stern captured a martini glass placed on the sand before a looming pyramid, the top of which is seen inverted in the glass of martini. This image of classic simplicity has since been described as the most influential break with traditional advertising photography.¹

A self-taught photographer, Stern began his career as an assistant at Flair Magazine. In 1946, while working at Look, he met and befriended Stanley Kubrick, for whom he would later shoot the memorable images of Sue Lyon as Lolita. After serving in the US Army, Stern returned to New York and began working on advertising campaigns. In 1953, during an assignment for a Madison Avenue advertising agency he photographed his first major assignment for Smirnoff Vodka in White Sands, New Mexico. This commission was the prelude to his great research of aesthetic image-finding.

His meteoric rise had seen him produce some of the most original and remarkable coloured images at the inception of advertising’s Golden Age, a groundbreaking documentary film, Jazz on a Summer’s Day, and iconic portraits of some of the world’s most famous stars such as Audrey Hepburn, Sophia Loren, Elizabeth Taylor oder Gary Cooper und Truman Capote — including the celebrated "Last Sitting" photographs of Marilyn Monroe.

 

¹ Robert A. Sobieszek, The Art of Persuasion: A History of Advertising Photography, New York: Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers, 1988, p.99.




  • The Prophetic Perugia, I.Miller, 1957




  • Driest of the Dry, Smirnoff Vodka, 1955